ReformJudaism.org

Jewish Life in Your Life

Search URJ.org and the other Reform websites:

 

Is kombucha tea kosher for Passover? Kombucha is made using a fermentation process.

Is kombucha tea kosher for Passover? Kombucha is made using a fermentation process.
Answer By: 
Rabbi Julie Zupan

With the caveat that we are not kombucha experts, we think kombucha is okay for Passover.

Here’s why: Foods that are normally kosher year-round are also kosher for Passover unless they are made (or contaminated in commercial preparation) with wheat, oats, barley, spelt, or rye.  If one or more of those five grains is used, then the food requires special preparation, e.g. matzah. The concern of Passover is not fermentation (wine, cheese, and pickles are all kosher for Passover), but rather fermentation of these five specific grains.

That said, many Jews will eat only those commercially prepared foods that are kosher certified, and our online search did not find a kombucha product with kosher for Passover certification.